top of page

NYC 2020 Wrap Up

Updated: Oct 16, 2020

The South Queensland Sharks came away with the coveted overall Champion Entity title in what was a hugely successful weekend at Touch Football Australia's National Youth Championships held on the Sunshine Coast last week.

The Sharks claimed five of the eight divisions on offer, turning it on on finals day to win all five of the Grand Finals they qualified for. Results for the ten Sharks teams were strong across the board and a special mention must go to our 12's and 14's girls development teams who performed incredibly well and were able to gain important development experiences that will only strengthen the depth of talent in the region.

Heading into the final day CQ Bulls were shaping as favourites across multiple divisions with the Sharks being slight underdogs. The effort and heart shown by the players and coaching staff to turn some results around from pool play did not go unnoticed and will be remembered

Our 12 Sharks referees were also well represented in the awards with Matthew Lavery being awarded Leading Male Referee, Charlise Falconer (from CQ but representing Sharks) being awarded Leading Junior Female Referee and Regional Referee Director Lee Rossow being awarded Leading Senior Referee.

Congratulations and thank you to the entire Sharks team who worked hard over the past three months to achieve an incredible result. Special mention must go to the SQBD Board, the Sharks technical panel of John Singh, Peter Topp, Tristan Mana and Lee Rossow, our fantastic medical staff from A-Game Sports Medicine, the TFA event team who put on a great event despite many challenges, and our Sharks players, staff and their families who sacrificed a lot of time and effort to help us achieve these amazing results!

Sharks Results:

12 Boys: Champions

12 Girls: 3rd

12 Girls Development: 5th

14 Boys: Champions

14 Girls: 3rd

14 Girls Development: 6th

16 Boys: Champions

16 Girls: Champions

18 Boys: 3rd

18 Girls: Champions

Team MVP’s

12 Boys: Tawa Simpkins

12 Girls: Jesse Sewell

12 Girls Development: Isabella Narain

14 Boys: Tyahn Tamati

14 Girls: Madisyn Campbell

14 Girls Development: Makayla Isedale

16 Boys: Kyer Teika

16 Girls: Chantay Kiria-Ratu

18 Boys: Ngakau Perry

18 Girls: Sharni Vilila


bottom of page